Annual Membership Awards

Annual Membership Awards

2016 Annual Awards Information


t’s time again to submit names for the FLAGD Membership Awards. The awards are presented at the FLAGD General Assembly luncheon, which is regularly held on the Friday of the Florida Dental Association’s annual meeting, the FNDC, at the Gaylord Palms Resort in Orlando.  The Luncheon is free to members who reserve in advance.

In addition to the Achievement Awards, the FLAGD Awards Committee is accepting self-nominations for two Continuing Education Awards. These awards will be presented to the FLAGD member who has taken the most participation CE hours and lecture CE hours during the prior calendar year, in this case, 2015. Each application must be confirmed by the submission of a copy of the nominees AGD Transcript and must be accompanied by all associated documentation of course attendance. Hours earned in a formal program, i.e. graduate school or a MasterTrack program, will not be counted toward the Continuing Education Award.

If you think you may qualify for this new, prestigious award, contact the AGD for a copy of your transcript and mail it to the Florida AGD office at 726 South Pine Street, Lake Worth, FL 34460, or fax it to us at 561-293-7061.

Other awards that will presented at the General Assembly are the Achievement Awards:

The J. Frank Collins Lifetime Achievement Award.
This award will recognize individuals who have demonstrated innovation and leadership, dedication to the advancement of dentistry, tenacity in pursuing idealistic goals, and who have made positive changes for the benefit of the dental profession and the dental health of the public. In 2010, this award was presented posthumously to former FLAGD and AGD President, Dr. J. Frank Collins, following which the FLAGD Board of Directors named the award in Dr. Collins’ honor.

The Distinguished Service Award
This award will be presented to a Council, Committee, or Task Force Member who has served the Florida AGD in an outstanding manner. The recipient will have gone beyond the call of duty in assuring continuity and integrity in the operations of this organization, as in the development of new programs, and has served the changing needs of the membership.

Humanitarian Award
The Humanitarian Award was established to recognize an individual who volunteers his or her service in conjunction with a consistent commitment to enhance the image of general dentistry through the continuous delivery of quality dental care and through consistent leadership in areas of civic involvement. The volunteer service does not need to be done in conjunction with the Florida AGD, nor does it need to be performed in the United States.

If sufficient nominations are received, the Committee will present the top three (3) nominees to the Board of Directors to make a decision at its Spring Meeting. The award recipients will be announced in the Spring issue of Florida Focus. All award recipients will be individually notified as soon as the determination is made, and asked attend the annual General Assembly to receive the award.

The deadline for submission of nominations is Friday, May 6, at 5:00 p.m. Please use the nomination form downloaded above. You may mail, fax or email the form to the FLAGD office. No form is necessary to self-nominate for the CE Award, just send a letter accompanying your transcript.


Tony Menendez, DDS, MAGD

After graduating from Emery University School of Dentistry, Tony set up a private practice in Port Charlotte, FL, where he has been practicing for the last 30 years. He joined the AGD and the Florida AGD in 1995, and has been a member ever since. In 2009, he was elected to be an At Large member of the FLAGD Board of Directors, and began serving as Chair of the Membership Council, a position he still holds. In 2010, Tony was elected as Vice-President, and then, when the President-Elect resigned, he moved into the office of President-Elect. He next graciously agreed to serve as President of the Florida AGD for two years, something no president had previously done.

Tony serves on the Membership Council of the AGD, and was recently appointed to the AGD Strategic Planning Committee. He is in training to be an AGD Spokesperson, and is running for the office of Region 20 Director, where, if elected, he would replace Dr. Bob Gehrig. Tony currently maintains his Mastership with the AGD and is one of very few AGD members to have received two LLSR awards, and is working toward a third.

Dr. Menendez has been a visiting faculty member at the University of Florida-Florida AGD MasterTrak program for the past 12 years. He has written many articles on dental related topics, and has given CE seminars to the Florida AGD and other organizations.



Richard M. Kanter, DMD, FAGD

The J. Frank Collins Lifetime Achievement Award is being presented this year to a man who truly represents the best qualities of Dr. Frank Collins. He has been very active in the Florida AGD and Tampa Bay component. He has served all constituent officer and board positions, including president, in 1999. He has served as a delegate and alternate delegate to the AGD House of Delegates.

Dr. Kanter is currently a member of the Audit Committee, a board liaison to the Self Instruction Committee, and a member of the workgroup on Member Value, Strategic Oversight and Sponsorship. He was a member of the Group Benefits Council from 2000-2001, and served as its chair from 2002-2007. He also served on the Strategic Advancement Committee (SAC) and various AGD task forces.

Dr. Kanter was appointed to be a division coordinator in 2007, and held that position until he was elected as Region 20 trustee in 2009, a position he still holds. He also chaired the Peer Review Committee for the Hillsborough County Dental Association, and is a charter member of the Tampa Bay Seattle Study Club.

Dr. Kanter received his dental degree from the University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine in 1974. After completing his three year U.S. Air Force commitment at MacDill Air Force Base in Tampa, Fla., he began his private practice at North Pointe Dental Associates, where he practices with Dr. Marc Tindell, also a former FLAGD President, and Dr. Ron Pross. He is an AGD Fellow and a post-graduate student of the L.D. Pankey Institute for Advanced Dental Education. He is also a member of the American Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine.

Dr. Kanter has been married to Mary since 1970, they have two daughters and one son, and best of all, five grandchildren. He loves to hike, fish, exercise, travel and spend time with his family.


Dr. Oscar Menendez

The Florida AGD is pleased to present the “Most CE Hours” Award to Dr. Oscar Menendez, with more than 350 hours of verifiable lecture and participation CE hours in 2014. If you keep copies of your CE attendance and feel like you have significant hours in 2015, we strongly encourage you to apply for this award next year.